Tips, US Laws

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in California

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in California

Driving on a suspended or revoked license is a misdemeanor offense and penalties depend on “why” the license was suspended. Your driving record and prior convictions for driving with a suspended license can also determine the nature and depth of punishment. If the offense is not related to DUI, sentencing includes:

First time conviction

For the first offense, a minimum fine of $300 and maximum fine of $1,000 can be charged, plus penalty assessments and/or imprisonment for five days to six months.

Second offense

For the next offense within five years, the penalty ranges from $500 to $2,000 plus jail time of ten days to one year. But if the license was suspended or revoked due to a DUI offense, the penalties are harsher and with a second offense, the penalty reaches up to $ 2,000 and a minimum of thirty days in a county jail to one year at the maximum.

Original posting : http://californiaticketking.com/index.php/california-traffic-ticket-attorney/Our-Services/Misdemeanor-Tickets/Driving-on-a-Suspended-License-CVC-%C2%A7%C2%A7-14601-14601.5.html

About Steve Ludwig

Regardless of if you own a vehicle or not or if you’ve maintained having prior insurance. Our Goal is to find affordable insurance solutions for every driver, regardless of your previous insurance or accident history. If you need Non-Owner or owner SR22 insurance, Florida and Virginia FR44 insurance, Georgia SR22A insurance, Indiana SR50 insurance, an Ohio SR22 Bond, or DUI insurance, Select Insurance Group is the right SELECTion for you!

One thought on “Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in California

  1. Ieguszi says:

    You have a bad driving recrod, and a history of not following the rules (driving while your license was suspended) You are a very high risk to get into a collision, and as such, the cost of insurance will reflect the risk.An SR- 22 is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility, which the state requires to prove that you have insurance. When you have a bad history, the state will not allow you to just say you have insurance, they require that you provide proof as a condition of having your driving privileges. You are going to have a hard time getting reasonably priced insurance, because of the risk that the insurance company is taking in covering you. No company really wants to insure high risk drivers, because they usually loose money on those drivers. Sorry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *