Texas SR-22 Insurance Questions and Answers

Texas SR-22 Insurance Questions and Answers

How is Texas insurance different from standard auto insurance?

Texas insurance is similar to standard auto insurance in many ways. But the main difference is that unlike regular auto insurance, the company that provides you with insurance is mandated by law to notify the Texas Department of Public Safety if your policy expires. In other words, with insurance, the state will be made aware of the fact that you are an uninsured driver. In addition, the state requires a special certificate by an insurance company when you are applying for reinstatement of your driver’s license. This means that you cannot simply present an insurance card or binder as proof of financial responsibility in the event of an accident. An insurer must send you a different notification which must be given to the Texas DPS in order to lift a driver’s license suspension.

Why would I need Texas insurance?

There are certain occurrences which may force you to obtain Texas SR-22 insurance.

  • You may fail to supply proof of standard liability insurance when it is requested (by a police officer, for instance).
  • You may incur four qualifying moving violations over a 12-month period (or seven within a 24-month period).
  • You may become involved in an auto accident in which you are uninsured.
  • You may be convicted of driving while intoxicated.

All of these scenarios have one thing in common: they generally result in the suspension of your driver’s license for a certain period of time. After that time has expired, you can apply to have your license reinstated — but as part of the process, you will have to acquire insurance. Also, you must continue buying insurance for two years after your license has been reinstated.

How much Texas SR-22 coverage will I need?

The minimum amount of coverage you must obtain with insurance is the same as it is for drivers with standard auto insurance policies. In Texas, this works out to $30,000 for each person who is injured in an accident which is your fault, with a maximum of $60,000 per incident. Of course, you may buy more coverage with insurance if you want to do so.

Is Texas insurance more expensive than standard auto insurance?

The fact that you are obtaining insurance in the first place (because you have done something to necessitate the suspension of your driver’s license) means that you will be placed in a higher risk category — and will therefore have to pay more than you otherwise would to remain insured.

How can I get Texas insurance?

Not all auto insurance companies offer insurance. Those who do can notify the Texas DPS that you have obtained the necessary policy in order to get your driver’s license back. If you’d rather do that yourself, you can ask for the appropriate form from your insurer and mail it to the Texas DPS’s Safety Responsibility Division, P.O. Box 15999, Austin, TX, 78761. (There are also four offices across the state where you can file the form in person – one each in Houston, Austin, the Dallas area, and near San Antonio.)

When do I have to renew my Texas insurance policy

Finally, if you buy insurance, you will have a smaller margin of error when it comes time to renew your policy. With standard insurance, you can renew your policy right up until the day it expires (or even after that, if you do not drive in the interim). However, companies that provide insurance are obligated to inform the Texas DPS if the policy is not renewed within 15 days of its expiration date. A non-renewal can result in a suspension of the policyholder’s driver’s license. It can sometimes be a hassle to acquire Texas insurance. But if you know all the requirements, you can obtain the proper coverage, get your driver’s license back, and become a lawfully insured driver once again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 
Select Insurance Group