Using special license plates for DUI offenders and ignition interlock users

Using special license plates for DUI offenders and ignition interlock users

Summaries of Current Special License Plate Laws

Georgia: Plates bearing a special series of numbers or letters may be issued in limited circumstances. (Georgia Code §40-2-136)

Iowa: Repealed in 1995. If a member of the household has a valid license, they were permitted to apply for special license plates, which contained a “Z” in the series of numbers. (Iowa Code §321J.4A)

Minnesota: Special plates may be issued if family member of the offender has a valid license. The plates would bear a special series of numbers. (Minnesota Statutes §§168.041 & 168.042)

Ohio: Plates on vehicles impounded for drunk driving are different from regular state plates, in red and yellow colors. Use of the plates became mandatory in 2004. (Ohio statutes §§4507.02(F)(2) and 4503.231)

Oregon: Pilot program ended 12/31/94. A special sticker was placed on vehicle license plates at the time of the offense to indicate that the operator of the vehicle was charged or convicted on drunk driving charges. (Oregon Code following §809.110)

Continue reading

Florida DUI and Administrative Suspension Laws

Florida DUI and Administrative Suspension Laws

1st DUI – 180 days to a 1-year revocation effective on conviction date. Or, first offense DUI with Serious Injury – at least a 3-year revocation. Before expiration of the revocation period, you may apply for a hardship license in the county where you live. DUI School completion and treatment, if referred, is required. You then can apply for a hardship license in anyAdministrative Reviews Office (see listing “Under Suspension – Need Driver License for Work”) where you live.If you wait to reinstate your license until your revocation period ends, proof of enrollment or completion of DUI School and treatment, if referred, is required. Failure to complete the course within 90 days after reinstatement will result in cancellation of your driver license by the department until the course is completed.  Failure to complete treatment may result in cancellation of your driver license.

Continue reading