What is Florida SR22s insurance? How to get it cheap
What is Florida SR22s insurance? How to get it cheap – Most people who have never had a run in with the law when it comes to traffic law violation probably have no idea of the nature of a SR22s. A SR22s is a document draw up by an insurance company as an assurance to any interested parties, (for instance; courts, other parties’ auto insurance companies and department of motor vehicles in any state), that the carrier of the document is financially capable of meeting any liabilities that may arise in the event of an auto accident in which they are victims.
The document is not an insurance policy but an evidence that you are covered while driving on the roads of Florida. It was brought to effect by Florida Statute 316.646(3) on September 1, 2010. Your insurance carrier must submit the form electronically to the state Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) within 30 days of notification. Not all traffic offences will require SR22s insurance but if your driving privileges are suspended, you definitely need this form. It will take about 48 hours to update on your driving history.
Florida has 3 types of SR22s certificate: owner’s certificate (covers liability for any vehicle owned by the covered driver), operator’s certificate (covers the driver driving a car owned by someone else) and owner-operator’s certificate (covers vehicle owned by driver and others). The difference between the SR22s and SR22 insurance is that the latter BI/PD policy coverage. You will only have to carry the Personal Injury Protection PIP and Property Damage liability PDL with the SR22s.
The State of Florida has set up minimum insurance requirements that a person must meet before their vehicles are registered in the state. This is because it is a ‘no-fault’ state, meaning, that the insurance company is required to meet the liabilities arising from a crash regardless of who caused the accident. Therefore, this has led to a need for all vehicles to have a minimum insurance requirement. Generally one must have the following;
- $10,000 in PIP
- $10,000 in PDL
- Or, $30,000 in CDL – Combined Single limits per occurrence.
While SR22s requirements may be instituted against people who are in many types of traffic offenses, special attention has been given to DUI cases, and in their case, they are required to acquire a FR44. At most you will be required to carry the SR22s insurance for 3 years. However, it is a good idea to consider additional coverage.
Causes of SR22 requirement in Florida
As a general rule, a person who has proven dangerous to other drivers, pedestrians and property- a problematic driver, will generally be prove to accidents and incidents that makes it necessary to track them with their insurance company. The SR22s requirement is therefore a “tracking tool” for a rogue driver. Listed below are violations that may lead to the loss of your license, which may in effect lead to a SR22s requirement.
The above table is just but an overview of what to expect. However, the seriousness of the offenses cannot be taken lightly as they will cost you the resources of time, money and your reputation. Let us delve into the offenses in depth.
According to the Florida state law:
You are considered to be a reckless driver if:
- You are driving in a manner that suggests you have total disregard for other people or property. For instance: If are found of overtaking at blind corners with utter disregard, you drive in a manner that puts others in risk( like causing them to veer off the road), are driving with little regard for speeding limits as is stipulated in the laws of the state. This kind of driving
- If you are fleeing from law enforcement officers.
These two instances will automatically get you cited for reckless driving. And the consequences of your decision are not to be taken lightly. The court will determine the following penalties:
- For a you may be jailed for and will be required to pay a fine of
|First time offender||Second time offender|
|Fine||$25- $500||$50 to $1,000|
|Jail time||Up to 90 days||Up to 6 months|
Should you in your offense, damage property, cause bodily harm or even cause death, you may be found guilty of a crime. The punishments that relate to such results are described in sec 775.082, 775.083 and 775.084, and may range between a short time to long periods of time in jail.
Fleeing from an accident scene
If you have been involved in an accident, whether or not you are responsible, the worst decision you can make is to leave the scene of the accident. Given it is considered as a hit and run incident, your situation worsens with that decision. The severity of the accident greatly determines how your situation will go. According to official report from The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 92,000 hit and run incidents were reported in 2015, out of those, 180 fatalities occurred.
You need to understand hit and run incidents are considered criminal offenses. To avoid facing criminal charges, stay put, wait for paramedics and law enforcement officers to arrive before leaving the scene of the accident. If you are caught after a hit and run, you will be looking at time in jail and hefty fines. According to Florida laws, an incident is considered a hit and run if;
- For a crash involving damage of property
- A person operating a vehicle crashes and damages property.
- Subsequently leaves the scene of the crash.
This is considered as a second degree misdemeanor. In order to avoid this inconvenience it is advisable to report the incident in case the owner of the property is not in the scene.
- For a crash that involves bodily harm
If you are involved in an accident and other persons are injured and you leave the scene of the accident, you need to know you are looking at a 3rd degree felony and will most likely face incarceration.
- For a crash that leads to death
Well, accidents happen and some unfortunately are fatal. However, should you cause one and a fatality occurs, you are still advised to stay there. If you choose to act in the contrary, are caught and convicted, be advised this is a 1st degree felony.
|Crash involving damage of property||Crash that involves bodily harm||Crash that leads to death|
|2nd degree misdemeanor||3rd degree felony||1st degree felony|
|Jail term||Not exceeding 60 days||Up to 5 years||Up to 30 years|
|Fine||Up to $500||Up to $5,000||Up to $10,000|
|Probation period||Not more than 6 months||Not more than 5 years||Up to 30 years|
A DUI in the state of Florida is driving while intoxicated or with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above the following limits;
- 08 for adults over the age of 21
- 02 for minors under the age of 21
- 04 for commercial drivers
Driving under the influence of alcohol or while intoxicated is one of the most severely frowned upon traffic crimes in Florida. It is so severe that while other offenses seem to attract a few penalties, drunken driving has caused for the law to introduce a new clause as pertains insurance for those people who like DUI. In 2008 a new requirement was introduced for DUI, namely: A person who is convicted of DUI must acquire a FR44 for 3 years from the original suspension date.
While most offenses attract SR22s in Florida, DUI has its own special requirement. This can be attributed to the escalating number of fatalities as a result of DUI. The reason you really do not want a FR44 requirement is because of the hefty amount you will pay in insurance premiums to cover possible costs in future accidents until it expires. The costs you will be looking at are mandatory;
- $100,000 for bodily harm per person
- $300,000 per occurrence
- $50,000 for possible property damage
Clearly, that is a staggering amount for most people to have to put up as insurance cover for DUI. It is also one of the main reasons why some insurance companies would rather drop a person who’s convicted of a DUI. If however this does not worry you, you may need to consider how you feel about spending time in jail, paying fines of up to $5, 000 weighs on you. A special interest should be placed on vehicular manslaughter while DUI. Clearly two offenses have been committed when one kills a person while driving under the influence.
- Driving while intoxicated
- Killing a person
In Florida Vehicular manslaughter is a 2nd degree felony and is punishable by a jail sentence of not more than 15 years.
|DUI||1st DUI||2nd DUI||3rd DUI|
|Fines||$500 – $2,000||$1,000 – $4,000||$2,000 – $5,000|
|License suspension||180 days – 1 year||Up to 5 years||Up to 10 years|
|Jail term||6 – 9months||9 months – 1 year||Up to 1 year|
Driving without insurance
In a state which specifically requires for you to acquire insurance before registration of your vehicle, it surely is not a wise idea to drive with expired insurance. The first and the most probable thing that will happen is your license will automatically be revoked. While Florida does not permanently revoke licenses, the waiting periods sometimes may be too long. You will be required to pay up to $500 to have your license reinstated. But that is not the only problem you are facing. Before your license is reinstated, you must acquire proof of insurance, SR22s.
|Driving without insurance||1st offense||2nd offense||Subsequent offenses|
|License suspension||Up to 3 years||Up to 3 years||Up to 3 years|
You will have to sustain a Six-month non-cancellable SR22s for 2 years if you receives a vehicle ticket for operating a vehicle without proof of insurance.
Accumulation of too many points
Every time you commit a traffic infraction you get yourself points in you driving license records. Every time you are cited, you earn yourself points. The problem with points is you will eventually get to the limit and have your license revoked. What you need first off is to understand some of the infractions that may lead to a situation where you lose your driving privileges. Some of the violations include:
- Violating child safety laws. If your child is not properly restrained as you drive around, you may get a ticket and points.
- Failure to pay tickets. The fact that there are no Law enforcement officers and court orders every day at your door does not mean you shouldn’t pay your last traffic ticket. This omission earns you point.
- Passing a stopped school bus. If a school bus stops ahead of you, before you can quickly pass it, note, you may be cited for breaking the law.
- This too raises your points.
Once you have accumulated enough points, you should know you are losing your license.
Others that may result in a suspension of your license are:
- Speeding above allowed speed limits
- Neglecting to pay child support
- Street racing
Violation of traffic laws is never a good idea. But it happens sometimes and people find themselves stuck. Between court summons, possible jail time, fines loss of your driving license and other court requirements it is easy to lose faith. However a SR22s requirement comes in a whole new dimension. Most of the time the person slapped with it has probably never heard of it. The special case of Florida where a DUI requires a FR44 is also new to most people. Of concern though, is when a person’s insurance company has no expertise to deal with SR22/FR44 requirements. What do you do if you are faced by this situation?
|Time period||In 1 year||In 1 1\2 years||In 3 years|
|Points||12 points||18 points||24 points|
|License suspension||30 days||3 months||1 year|
A driver who is required to carry the SR22s insurance must ensure that he or she renews the policy. Failure to maintain a SR22s certificate, the drivers gets an automatic driver’s license suspension. It is also the responsibility of the insurance provider to notify the Department of Financial Responsibility if you cancel or lapse the policy within the 3 year period.
When you are considered a high risk driver, the insurance provider might take advantage of your situation and increase the premiums. Some my revoke you policy and others might not agree to renew your policy. Apart from the factors that govern the premiums like driving history, age or location, expect additional fees.
An out-of-state insurance policy should comply with the minimum requirements of Florida, just in case you if you travel within the state borders and cause an accident. SR22 insurance is meant to keep the Florida residents safe from damages and assurance that the driver and victims of an accidents are covered.
Select Insurance Group is ready to talk to you if you fall under high risk drivers. A driver is generally classified as high risk if he is liable for multiple traffic violations, drunk driving violation, accidents without insurance, driving without insurance, and suspension of a driver’s license and others that required to carry a financial responsibility filings.
We are a high risk insurance company and therefore have the knowledge, know-how, ability and expertise to deal with your issue. Since we are all over the nation, we shall be at your service as soon as you contact us.
If you need a SR22s/ SR22/FR44/SR50/SR22A Insurance, then we have plans ready and flexible for any situation. To make it easy for you, you have to fill our auto quote form. We are one and only company that provides such type of insurance not compromising error. We will make sure that you to get back on the road with an affordable SR22s in Florida.