Indiana SR22 Insurance – certificate of financial responsibility

Indiana SR50 and SR22 Insurance

Indiana – certificate of financial responsibility

Indiana – certificate of financial responsibility – The Indiana  Insurance form is simply an add-on to your auto insurance policy it is not a policy by itself. When you are required to file one with the state it allows the state to be notified by the insurance company you use if the policy has been cancelled or lapsed. If you let the policy cancel prior to the end of your suspension period the BMV will suspend your license until proof of insurance is received.

 

The state of Indiana may require you to obtain SR-22 insurance from an insurance company that operates in the state for the following reasons:

 
  • Failure to maintain proper liability insurance
  • Habitual Traffic Violator
  • Operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI)
  • Failure to appear in court for a traffic citation
  • Leaving the scene of an accident

Where do I get an SR-22 form in Indiana?

 

Most insurance companies that operate in the state of Indiana will offer auto insurance. The fee to add the form on is between $15 and $50 depending on the company you choose. It is best to get multiple quotes from companies you trust and choose which one is best for you. We offer an online service that will get you up to 5 different quotes from insurance companies for you to compare. Just enter your zip code in the form at the top of this page.

How long do I need to maintain the filing in IN?

 

The SR-22 form must be filed with the Indiana BMV for three years after the end of the suspension period. Remember if the BMV is notified of the policy being cancelled it will suspend your license again.

Indiana Liability Insurance Requirements

 

The state of Indiana requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

  • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
  • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
  • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Information and Reinstatement

 

In order to reinstate your driver’s license there are a few steps you must take to determine when and how you can get your license back. First you must know the date your license can be reinstated which is shown on your Official Driver Record.

Once you have met the reinstatement requirements you must ask the court to send the information to the BMV for processing. Then you need to make sure you have proof of insurance submitted to the BMV electronically. In most cases this will be an SR-22 submitted by your insurance company.

What is the difference between SR-50 insurance and SR-22 insurance?

 

SR-50 insurance is an affidavit of current insurance which is electronically submitted by the insurance company. It will show the start and end dates of the policy.

SR-22 insurance is proof of future financial responsibility for the driver who is required to maintain it for three years. The form must be electronically submitted to the BMV by your insurance company. This is the form you need after your license has been suspended for a major violation.

After all the insurance and reinstatement fees have been paid you can reinstate your license. If your driver’s license was taken by law enforcement at the time of your suspension you need to visit the branch or order a duplicate license.

Operating a Vehicle While Intoxicated (OWI) in Indiana

 

It is a crime to being operating a motor vehicle with a blood-alcohol content higher than the legal limit. An officer may ask for you to take a road side chemical test via blood, breath, or urine. If you fail the chemical test your license may be suspended up to 180 days.

If you refuse to take the BAC test the officer will confiscate your license and you face license suspension up to one year.

Probationary license is granted to non-repeat offenders that are eligible otherwise. The decision is up to the court order but the person must be suspended for at least 30 days prior to probationary license can be effective. In some cases the court would require an ignition interlock device be installed on the vehicle you operate.

If you have questions, don’t hesitate to call: 877-949-7873 or 855-GET-SELECT (855-438-7353). One of our licensed agents will help you right away.

 
Select Insurance Group