Getting Cheap SR22 insurance in California: Updated 2016 Guide

Getting Cheap SR22 insurance in California: Updated 2016 Guide

Getting Cheap in California: Updated 2016 Guide

Getting Cheap in California: Updated 2016 Guide – Select Insurance Group provides cheap  in California. Our agents are certified coast to coast to meet the needs of every customer. This updated 2016 guide aims to cover all aspects of getting and maintaining in California.

Every driver in California state is required to meet minimum liability requirements in order to legally operate a vehicle. Those who fail to prove their insurance status are required to obtain . By having it filed you’ll be able to reinstate your drivers license in California. 

Guide containment:

What is California ?

is a document that indicate prove of financial responsibility. Term “SR” is equivalent of “Safety Responsibility”. This certificate says that the driver is financially able to maintain California state liability minimums.

It is issued upon State requirement. Typically those drivers who fail to obey traffic laws are required to have in order to reinstate their driver’s license.

Your insurance provider will file it for you to the state so that DMV will be informed about your current insurance status.  It must be kept current for the mandated period.

Minimum liability requirements in California are the following:

AmountDescription
$5,000“PD”- Property damage
$15,000“BI” – Bodily injuries. This is the maximum amount for bodily injuries per person
$30,000Maximum amount to be paid for all bodily injuries to everyone who involved into an accident.

Why would DMV require filing in California?

may be required upon multiple traffic violations over short time. Like 12 points in less then two years. Also it can be because of driving under the influence of alcohol, or failed to prove current insurance status.

Owner and Non-Owner

In California you may be required to carry whether you own (Owner ) or do not own (Non-Owner ) a vehicle. As a result there are the types of certificates available to file:

  1. Operator’s certificate – issued when you need an insurance policy for a vehicle that you operate but do not own.
  2. Owner’s certificate – issued when you need an insurance policy for a vehicle that you operate and own.
  3. Operator-Owner’s certificate – issued when you need an insurance policy for all vehicles that you operate. Both owned and non-owned.

Who can issue ?

can be issued by certified company like Select Insurance Group. We are licensed not only in California. We are able to service our customers all over US. Before further do – feel free to fill out our quote form.

One of our licensed agents will be calling or mailing you back for details. You are going to be very happy.

It is always good to know that is not like regular car insurance. That is a certificate for Department of Motor Vehicles that you are able to carry regular car insurance for your vehicle.

As a result – not every car insurance company is able to help you with . At Select Insurance Group our goal is to provide awesome experience to our customers.

We make sure that all policies are properly filed and maintained. 

California SR22 Form
Sample of California Form

Who needs in California?

The most common reason for in California is to reinstate driver’s license. Nowadays a car is a part of our lives. Life can become a nightmare without having legal ability to drive.

Here is a complete list of reasons for requirement in California:

  • DUI (Driving under the influence of alcohol)
  • DWI (Driving while intoxicated)
  • Caught on driving without car insurance. Failed to provide a prove of current insurance status.
  • Reckless or hazardous driving. Multiple traffic law violations that involve 12 points in less then 2 years
  • Other legal judgement
California DUI arrest
There are over 160,000 arrests happen in California within a year

Process of getting

First, you need to shop around and find reliable insurance company that is licensed in California to provide . Take some time to get a quote from us.

As mentioned before, you are going to be very happy with our quotes.

We’ll be working on you policy based on information that is provided after submitting auto quote form. One of our licensed agents will be contacting you to verify some details.

Your filing will be instantly submitted to DMV.

Since your policy will be e-filed, you’ll be able to download it and print details within 5 minutes. After payment completed your policy becomes active.

File California SR22 now!

California law

It is always good to keep in mind that if you required to file for – that means that you are currently at high-risk category of drivers. High-risk insurance category will definitely have impact on your insurance premiums.

In California is mandated for 3 year period. For DUI cases it can be required for 5 years.

It is mandatory to maintain it for the whole term of requirement without any stops. In case you fail to maintain your policy – you will be required to start over.

The insurance company will issue SR26 form. This form indicates that your is no longer active.

In case of cancellation the DMV will immediately suspend your driver’s license.

If you want to reinstate your driver’s license you will need to file again and start over.

If you would like to get rid of in California as soon as possible – you need to make sure that your policy is active for the full period of requirement with no stops.

How cost is determined?

Your driving history – is not required for the first time convictions. You are most likely to get this requirement for multiple violations.

As a result, the final cost will be adjusted according to your driving history. For example: DUIs, accidents, claims, etc.

Your age – young drivers under age of 25 have higher costs for insurance premiums. Drivers at the age of 55+ will have relatively lower costs.

Based on our data – in California mostly used by drivers at the age of 22-36. Both males and females have equal rate of violations.

Life Style – rates will be adjusted according to the mileage you normally drive on a daily basis. Less driving assume lower risks and lower costs.

Location – place you live may have influence on your costs. Highly populated cities like Los Angeles or San Francisco may have relatively higher costs on then other areas.

Marital status – people who already married and have family with kids are less risky. They are more responsible than those who are currently single.

In other words, married person will most likely get better rates then unmarried with same profile.

Gender – based on criminal stats across the US, males are more likely to violate traffic laws. That is why males will have slightly higher rates on insurance.

Car you drive – the more power in you car, the higher premiums you receive. Higher performance cars are also more expensive on repairs and service.

Stats are also showing that there is higher possibility of accident when driving sports car.

Credit Score – bad history with banks can result in higher insurance rates. is all about the ability to maintain your insurance status during required period. 

Average cost in California

Based of many years of experience we can tell that cost in California can hit up to $25/month. However, Select Insurance Group is capable to offer rates even less then $15/month.

This is due to the fact that we shop multiple sources to provide affordable rates to our customers.

Pretty often we have discount programs. The best way to check if you are qualified is to fill out our quote form. It only takes few minutes, but it definitely worth it.

How to file a California form – checklist:

  1. Add an filing to your current or new auto insurance policy. If you want to compare rates from leading insurance companies try our free service to help lower your monthly cost.
  2. Verify you have state minimum liability insurance. Most reputable companies in California will not sell insurance that is less than the state minimum limits.
  3. Your insurance company will submit the filing to the state within 30 days and usually electronically.
  4. Once approved you will receive a letter from the DMV stating they have received your auto insurance with form .
  5. Maintain this insurance for a minimum of 3 years or your court-ordered suspension period. Do not let this policy lapse as your license will be suspended again and the period will start over.
California SR22 Online Filing
File your California online with Select Insurance Group

What Select Insurance Group can do for you?

We offer affordable cost in California. Our licensed agents can quickly walk you through the process.

We shop multiple vendors to get cheapest rates on for our customers. Even hard to insure drivers restore their driving privileges with us.

Call us today to get your free quote!

 

 

 
Select Insurance Group