How long do I carry an SR22 insurance in Tennessee

How long do I carry an SR22 insurance in Tennessee

A Tennessee  can be required for a total of 5 years from your date of suspension. If the Tennessee  is filed for a total of 3 years (36 months) within the 5-year period, the SR-22 may be cancelled provided it is not required on any other suspension.

If 5 years pass from the date of suspension before you reinstate your privileges, then the Tennessee would not be required. If the SR-22 is cancelled before the required time and a new form not filed, your driving privileges will be suspended.

What is Tennessee ?

A SR-22 form is proof of future financial responsibility as required under Tennessee Code Annotated 55-12-114. If you are required to file a SR-22, then you should contact your liability insurance representative and advise them of the needed filing with our state. The form must be filed by an insurance company licensed through the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance to issue motor vehicle liability insurance coverage in Tennessee.

The minimum limits of liability required in Tennessee are 25/50/15. Our department cannot furnish blank forms. The form must be issued from a liability insurance company. For the cost of this type insurance you will need to check with your insurance agent. The insurance company determines the cost.

Why do I need Tennessee ?

An SR-22 is a certification of proof of future Financial Responsibility issued by your insurance company to the Tennessee Department of Safety providing proof that you purchased liability insurance. The following circumstances may require a person to have an SR-22:

  • To reinstate a license suspended after the person fails to pay an accident judgment
  • To reinstate a license suspended after the person fails to maintain proof of Financial Responsibility
  • To reinstate a license suspended for excessive points
  • To reinstate a license suspended for Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

What is the Penalty for Failure to comply with Tennessee’s financial responsibility requirements ()?

Failure to maintain proper insurance could lead to the suspension of your driver’s license and a $100 fine. If your driver’s license is suspended, there may also be a STOP placed on your vehicle registration until you reinstate your license by showing evidence of Financial Responsibility and meeting all other requirements. If a STOP is in place, you may not be allowed to register or renew your vehicle. If you have any further auto insurance questions please call us today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 
Select Insurance Group